Thoughts about Jobs

So I said I have thoughts. What are these thoughts about? Lots of things. Jobs for instance. I’ve applied to two jobs now, and I’m working on two more applications. There is also a job that Dad rustled up for me that I need to do something about.

Probably I should tell the guy that Dad was telling me about that I had something come up and I can’t help him. I don’t know how long the job is supposed to last and if I’m supposed to find other work and some of the jobs I’ve applied to are pretty appealing, I don’t know that that’s really the best thing to do. On the other hand, Dad did try to work something out for me and it almost seems wrong not to take advantage of the connections he made for me.

The first job I applied to was a volunteer job at Blue Ridge Outdoors. They were looking for an intern to do some editing and web publishing. I talked to the guy, Andy, and he said that they found someone with more of the experience that they were looking for. He was very nice through the whole thing and I can’t say it wasn’t a learning experience. It seems like it would’ve been a nice place to work, but I suppose God’s got other plans.

I applied at Mincer’s in town. Mincer’s is a University of Virginia (UVA) knickknack shop. They sell university shirts, hats, and all kinds of other things. They were looking for a stocker/merchandiser. I haven’t heard anything from them yet, but I’m not holding my breath. They mentioned in their ad a pretty nice wage for the work and some good hours. We’ll see what happens with that.

I applied this morning to the local daily paper, The Daily Progress. They were advertising for an editor. They wanted experience with layout/design, which I don’t have. I’m not really holding my breath for this job either, but it seems like something I could be happy doing for a while. It’s a part-time job, which means that I would have to find another part-time job, but that’s okay. I could find something completely different and it wouldn’t mess me up as long as I got paid enough to pay all of my bills.

This afternoon, I picked up an application for the SPCA. I don’t know what they are paying, but they were advertising for a full-time kennel/cat care person in the weekly paper here in town. The girl I talked to said she didn’t know if the position had been filled, but she gave me an application and I’ve almost finished it.

A couple of weeks ago, when Tony bought his new boat, we picked up an application for the store where he bought it – Blue Ridge Mountain Sports. It seems like an interesting place to work, but it seems like it offers the most challenge as most or all of their positions include some kind of customer service. They are a very friendly store and I’m not sure I could keep that image up (they call across the store to welcome you).

All in all, this whole finding a job thing is way more complicated than I anticipated. I guess we’ll see how it all works out.

One thought on “Thoughts about Jobs

  1. Actually, you picked up the application for BRMS when we went to get the rack. Since I bought the new boat from Appomatox River Co., it’d have been hard to get an application for BRMS at the same time.Sillie girl….– Tony

Have something to say?

