Life Changes

What makes you change what you are going to do? Lots of things, I suppose. What was it for me? Sometimes, I wonder if anything did or if I was just coming under what my psychology teacher said was a time that is worst for most freshmen. Then, there are other times I realize that I didn’t (and don’t) have the drive to succeed in the horse world. I forget what it is that my economics teacher called it, but it’s one of those things that people do after they take care of getting the things they need.

In addition to the fact that horses are a second (or third, or fourth, etc) concern, there are plenty of other things that people can spend their money on. My family is just one example. I never had much contact with horses until we moved here and I got the job at the Knutsens. People could choose a new computer, or going to all of UVa’s games, or going to the UVa vs. Tech game, or any number of things instead of having anything to do with horses.

Thirdly, I don’t have the experience that most of the people at school had. I suppose this mixes in with the next point, but since there are people that are so much more experienced than I at the whole horse thing and I’m sure there are people with a lot more talent at that school, there didn’t seem to be much room for me to fit into the scheme of things. And if you know me, you know I don’t do well at making a place for myself. Especially when there are lots of people around.

The final thing, though, is that the equine market is pretty well saturated. Consider the concern that some horse facilities are having to deal with as a result of the ban on the slaughter of horses. There is more than one place, I am sure that is worried about the prices of horses going down and what they are going to do to make money when that happens. The cost of living isn’t going to go down, but these people are going to have to find some way to make money from their chosen profession.

Have something to say?

