The Ranch BBQ and Birthday Picnics (August 2 – 6, 2005)

Tuesday was the ranch BBQ. Aunt Jane hosts an annual event toward the end of the summer and invites all the cowboys and their families. On this particular occasion, cowboys from three of the camps were there. As Spider had already been to Headquarters over the summer, no one was surprised he wasn’t there. I managed to pick a fight that was bigger than I was, but I didn’t care. I bugged Daniel like a sister would and finally we were wrestling – he was trying to get me into the swimming pool and I was trying to keep from getting dunked. He was good enough to let me go before we got there. I suppose if he’d been as bad as I can be, I don’t know that I’d have been glad to have picked the fight.

Friday was my last day of work and Mom arrived on Saturday. I’d been making plans for at least a couple of weeks to take Mom out to one of the places I’d seen over the summer and really liked the looks of (for her birthday). So I made her a cake and after I picked her up, we drove out to the ranch, dropped her stuff and Jean’s stuff off in my room, picked up Johanna and Eleena and drove down to headquarters, where we invited everyone, but only Nina could come with us. It was kind of awkward, but I am glad it worked out.

Have something to say?

