Muck a Paddock?

I used to wonder sometimes what things would look like if people mucked their pastures. Today I found out. The stud paddock is probably 1-2 acres. I’m not really good at judging size, so I might be wrong. At any rate, I hate trying to pick manure out from in the grass because the grass doesn’t come up very easily and I don’t think Patience, my boss, would be very happy with me if I pulled up all her grass when she only told me to get up the manure. So I started on the paddock thinking it wouldn’t take very long. It’s not that big and it didn’t look as dirty as some I’ve seen. It took me over two hours and two trips to the manure pile with the Mule (see Acclimation). It was like cleaning the corrals in Arizona, but a lot more work because of the grass. Not something I want to do very often, but now it’s done, and I got paid for it.

The reasoning? At school, Vicki, one of my teachers, said that dragging a paddock is a good idea to get rid of the parasites that live in manure. This pasture is shaped a little strangely, so I don’t know that dragging it is really an option. Anyway, I think the reason I was picking the paddock was to keep the parasites down. If I’m wrong, I don’t know why I did it, but I don’t know that I really care.

Have something to say?

