New People

I’m not much of a people person, so when a new person comes around, it’s hard for me to feel comfortable for quite a while. And lately there have been a lot of new people. The whole job search, finally getting a job, learning about the job, and the fact that I’m not the only new face while having quite a bit of responsibility has led to my having to talk to a lot of new people. Not only that, but Patrick, Tony’s friend, has moved in with him for the next couple of weeks while he’s in between houses.

I pay Tony for dinner and I really like his company, so I go over there to eat. The only catch is, Patrick is there too. For the last couple of days it’s been really uncomfortable, but the last two nights we’ve been playing Spades. Tony and David were on a team and Patrick and I played together. I think we play pretty well together (we didn’t do too badly except on the first game, but I think that was mostly my fault), but that’s not the point. The point is, he’s not so scary anymore.

At work, Patience, my boss, had a girl come yesterday for an interview. Of course, the girl came into the barn first, but Patience was out at the ring teaching. So Ashley (the new girl) came in to the barn and I made myself introduce myself because I remembered the first couple of days, no one introduced themselves – they just assumed I knew who was who, I guess. The point here is not that I was so good and introduced myself; the point is, I feel like these things are coming easier, and it makes my life a lot easier in the process. Which, as Tony would say, is a Good Thing (see here).

2 thoughts on “New People

  1. I am sort of like this too. I don’t like meeting new people, but it does seem like the more you do it the better you get.Congratulations on opening up a little.

Have something to say?

