One Smart Cookie

Horses are smart. I know, you probably already know that. Sometimes, it’s irritating how smart they can be. Bam and Dakini get put in the Far Field at night and in the morning, I go to get them. Patience told me that I could just open the gate from the Far Field to the Big Field and they would wander to the gate of the Big Field and it’d be that much easier to get them to the barn. Well, I tried it twice now and both times it failed to save me any time (she’s all about efficiency). Both mornings Dakini has been harder to catch, but not impossible. Last time, it took a while, but I finally managed to catch Bam. This morning, when I tried again, it was like trying to catch a horse on the ranch, but he was much more determined that I not catch him and he had a lot more space to run. I tried running him between one of the double fences, but that didn’t work. I tried working him like a horse works a cow, but that didn’t work either. Finally, I went to Patience and told he what the deal was. I should have guessed what her answer would be. “Take an apple and offer it to him. If it doesn’t work, let me know.” Ok, that was easy. He was a little suspicious (as any good horse would be), but I managed to get his halter on him and from now on, I’m just going to lead them from the Far Field.

2 thoughts on “One Smart Cookie

  1. Can’t you simple ask them, the night before, what time you would like them to be at the designated spot? Say you will have a surprise for them. If that doesn’t work whistle off key.

  2. If only it were that easy. They aren’t trained for listening or for whistles, unfortunately. :) But honestly, once I had the apple, it was relatively easy. They like their food and Patience is quite willing to give it to them within reason.

Have something to say?

