Movies (Make Sure You Read the Warning)

Warning: If you’ve not seen Fantastic Four: Rise of the Silver Surfer OR Pirates of the Caribbean: At the World’s End and plan to do so, you don’t want to read this post.

Tony, David, and I went to see the new Fantastic Four movie last night. Not a movie I would recommend. It was so boring I could have walked out of the theater and not cared that I was missing the ending. If you know me, you know I have to know what happens at the end. I read the ends of books first, usually. Not only that, but when the girl died, I didn’t care. I mean, you figure the main character can’t die or else he’ll be brought back to life somehow, but I couldn’t have cared less if they’d left the lady dead. I know that’s mean of me, but the movie was that boring.

The third Pirates of the Caribbean movie, on the other hand, was really good. I liked it a lot. I think one of the things I really liked about it was the way all the questions weren’t answered in the end. It was rather unsatisfactory when we left the theater (kind of along with wanting to know the end is wanting a conclusive finish), but it certainly makes your brain juices flow. There is a lot of speculation about what happened at the end and all of it seems to have equally shaky footing, so it’s up to you to choose what it is you want to believe.

5 thoughts on “Movies (Make Sure You Read the Warning)

  1. I thought the second one was long, but less the third one. Maybe I just don’t remember (which is possible, since I always get bored sitting through movies at the theater). Fortunately, I didn’t see the second one until the night before the third one.

  2. I agree that Pirates 3 was way more fun than Pirates 2. All I had to do was suspend disbelief (consciously!) and enjoy the ride.Thumbs up for the pebble/crab animation sequence!

Have something to say?

