Rion’s Dilemma

Today was just another Wednesday until I went back to work for my afternoon “shift.” I was getting ready to put Rion out, but I noticed he had a really hard time walking as his left hind leg was stuck out behind him. I called up to Patience and she came down to take a look. Fortunately, she knew right away what the problem was: his patella was sticking. I don’t really know what that means, but I think it’s something kind of like your kneecap getting stuck so you can’t move your leg. Anyway, she called the vet, who said to give him two grams of bute, keep him in overnight, and call again in the morning to schedule an appointment since it wasn’t technically an emergency. It was really pitiful watching him hobble around, but Patience said it’d happened before and he seemed alright until this afternoon, so I guess we’ll see what happens.

Perry and Dewey didn’t seem to mind too much that they were missing their pasture-mate. I suppose that’s not really surprising, as they got along so well together so quickly. Well, that and the fact that they’d not been together all that long.

Have something to say?

