Olympic Vet

When Patience told me the vet that works with the horses that compete in the Olympics was coming, I didn’t really know what to expect. She said he was a busy man and that pretty much everything gets dropped to do what needs to be done for him so he can go on his way. When he arrived 30 minutes early and nothing was ready, I think people kind of panicked, but better than that, I think we did a decent job of collecting all the horses we needed (they all were out since they were kept in last night because of the threat of storms) and getting them ready.

For a while, he was just a face and a name with an impressive title. I didn’t really do much to help them because there were already three people there other than the vet. At any rate, I was hauling (in a wheelbarrow) some sawdust/shavings/whatever horse people want to call the stuff into one of the stalls. The pile of shavings are outside the barn and the bump to get into the barn is pretty impressive. Usually, we put down a board to make the bump not as extreme, but I’d forgotten. I tried to go over anyway, just to see what would happen and made a mess. So I thought maybe if I turned around, I’d make it through without too much of a mess. The vet was coming from his truck and right about the time I turned the wheelbarrow around, he said he’d help me. I didn’t hear him before I achieved success, but that offer of help did more than anything else to make me respect him.

Patience and Anna were both impressed, I think, but for a different reason. They seem to think he’s a good vet. I don’t really know anything about vets, but for him to be a part of the Olympics, I’d say that’s a pretty good bet.

2 thoughts on “Olympic Vet

  1. Don’t let a title and Olympics be too intimidating…How many times have you heard about someone tied to such a place being later outed for some problem?Have a good 4th.

Have something to say?

