So Young

This evening, I was at Tony’s house for dinner and some guy knocked on the door. He wasn’t dressed for company and told me to answer the door while he put on a nicer shirt, so I went to the door, opened it, and said, “Hi.” The guy who was on the other side of the door asked, “Are your parents home?” I wasn’t quite sure what to say (I don’t live with my parents anymore, even if I were at home), so I told him to hang on a second. I kind of shut the door in his face (I wasn’t sure what to do with it at that point) and went for Tony, who did the rest of the talking. I was kind of surprised that he assumed I was living with my parents. The worst thing, though, was that I didn’t know what to say or do twice. Of course, I feel that way a lot in social situations.

Have something to say?

