"He Likes You"

No, it’s not as girly as it sounds. Sorry. Well, not really. Whatever. The point is not to argue how girly the post is. The point, when I get to it, is about riding today.

Anna said I could ride today because Tanya was coming, but she wasn’t going to ride. So Anna said that once I got done cleaning Laurie up, I could tack up and ride. So I did. We were working on three loop serpentines or something like that. Basically, because the arena is 20X60 meters, you can do three half circles down the length of the arena. I wasn’t very good at it, but neither of us was really expecting me to be. Moo was pretty good about moving forward, but I had to remind him a couple of times that we were working and he wasn’t allowed to slack off.

When we got back to the barn and I was cleaning up Moo, Anna said, “I think he likes you. He goes for you without using the crop much.” I was thinking, “Gee, if he likes me so much, he could not get so irritated with my being in his stall, like just for mucking.” But I didn’t say it. So Anna told Tanya and Tanya agreed. I suppose that makes me feel good in that, somehow, he moves for me and that’s one less thing I have to worry about right now.

One of my favorite things about riding him is that he stretches out and lengthens his neck. Anna says that’s a good thing, so I get to let him take all the rein he wants. I think Anna thinks it worries me, but it’s so nice to not worry about directing his head and just focus on moving and keeping a rhythm (posting mostly).

One thought on “"He Likes You"

Have something to say?

