Classes

I only have four classes this semester. I haven’t written lately because I’ve been trying to get settled in and get used to the teachers and classes before deciding whether I like or dislike a class. Unfortunately, I don’t really have a “like” list this semester. Sure, there are things I like about one class or another, but there aren’t really any that I just can’t wait to get to.

My first class of the week is American History Before the Civil War. Sure, it could be interesting. But my teacher is really dull. Not stupid…I’m sure he knows a lot. But he’s not very engaging, which basically destroys any desire I might have had to be there. History is three days a week (Monday, Wednesday, and Friday).

African-American Literature is on Mondays and Wednesdays. Another class that could be interesting. Again, the teacher isn’t very engaging, but I think that might be because she doesn’t have the time put into the class that most professors or teachers have; this is only her second semester here and she’s a fairly new teacher.

Tuesdays and Thursdays begin with French. Not a class I wanted to take, but my teacher almost makes me want to be there. She’s really good. The lady that rides at the barn where I work teaches voice lessons and one of her students is in my class. I have yet to say anything to her.

My last class on Tuesdays and Thursdays is the required Orientation class. It’s only six weeks and I told Tony yesterday that the last day of that class was going to be the best birthday present ever. The first time I can remember (I’m sure I’ve done it before) counting down to my birthday. My teacher’s really dull (doesn’t look much at the students when he speaks) and the class seems dumb. But whatever. It’s short.

So that’s my classes and I’ve got to get to one, so I guess that’s it for today.

2 thoughts on “Classes

  1. Required classes are often pretty dull. Maybe the teachers will liven up as they get “into” their subjects. On the positive side, if your French teacher is enthusiastic, you might get interested in French. Good luck with it all. Hang in there.

  2. Thanks for the encouragement. I knew required classes were dull, but I never imagined it all would be dull. Since it’s only something like 15 weeks…. It’ll be over all too soon.

Have something to say?

