A Walk in the Snow

A little over a week ago, we got about four inches of snow. Classes were cancelled (of course) and I didn’t have to be anywhere, so I went for a walk with a camera. I managed to find some really interesting subjects. My favorite is this squirrel. I took his picture at the beginning of my walk. Nobody here in town (that I know of) is all that fond of squirrels, but he was cute, so I had to take his picture. I really like the way the snow is so visible too.

This picture was taken near the end of my walk. I was on my way back and I wasn’t really expecting to take more pictures (thought I certainly wasn’t averse to the idea, obviously). For some reason, the mailboxes caught my attention. I think it’s because there were so many of them in a row and I really like those sorts of pictures. So, I took a few pictures and hoped they would come out.

I did not really look at the pictures as I took them because the snow was coming down pretty hard still and I wanted to protect the camera, so I’m really happy that I got the few pictures that turned out. I took the pictures in color, but desaturated them because I think snow pictures look better in black and white.

Tony’s helping me with one of the pictures I took and hopefully I can put that up soon. We’re playing around a little with color and stuff. He put up some of my favorite pictures on his blog (the post is Textures), so if you want to see them, you’ll have to go over there.

2 thoughts on “A Walk in the Snow

  1. Your mailbox one is a very cool one. I think it has some artistic purpose, that has a definite name, but I lack the knowledge to tell you that name. We are about to get another 5-10 inches tonight. It sucks because I have to drive in it tonight!!!(Hopefully I won’t get stuck.)

  2. Well, it’s not my mailbox. I don’t really have one right now. It probably does have a name, but I don’t know it either. Hope the snow wasn’t too bad for driving. Our snow didn’t stick around long.

Have something to say?

