Rainbow River

This is Rainbow River. I thought this was a nice picture to show the sort of plants there are in most of the places Jean and I visited while we were in Florida. It was beautiful in such a foreign way. Made the temperatures a bit more bearable. *grin* It was in the 80s while we were down there and I sure was glad to come back to the 40s here.

Rainbow River has a bit of the river (right at the head spring) cordoned off for swimming. This picture just shows how clear the water is. The leaf is at the top of the water, but everything else is on the bottom. There were not many places I (at 5’5″) could reach the bottom…this was not one of them.

Hopping in was a bit unpleasant. You have to just do it. The water temperature is pretty high compared to the ocean (why manatees live at Homossasa), but it still was not terribly pleasant on my skin. That cold and knowing that I couldn’t touch the bottom made my breath freeze, so I got out before too long. The advantage, I suppose, was that Jean and I stopped complaining about how hot it was. *grin*

Rainbow River is not just a place to swim. It also has some very nice walking trails. These waterfalls, as explained in the park (another built after a private park closed), were built by the first owners on top of the remains from mining. I didn’t have a tripod, so the longer exposures are a bit fuzzy (I had a fence, but even then, my hand isn’t terribly steady, I guess).

This was our last day sightseeing in Florida. We had a lot of fun and I really got to relax, which was extraordinarily nice. I wasn’t too keen on coming back for school, but that’s what you get for being a student, I guess.

2 thoughts on “Rainbow River

Have something to say?

