Ohio’s Covered Bridges

Tony is in Dayton for a conference this week and invited me to go with him. I was excited to get a chance to explore somewhere new, so I quickly agreed. We drove most of yesterday, so we didn’t get to do much of anything except get our hotel room, grab some dinner, and crash.

This morning, Tony’s conference started at 7:30-ish, so after he left, I started looking around the internet for “things to do in Dayton.” It wasn’t too long before I found that Ohio has covered bridges. After a trip last year with Aunt Darleen looking for some of Virginia’s covered bridges, I thought that might be a good way to start the week. After doing some research, I discovered that Preble County has a covered bridge driving tour. Not realizing that I wasn’t in Preble County and that Eaton is a pretty good drive from where we are in Dayton, I started off.

After spending a good deal of time in the car (an hour, maybe?…after spending eight hours in the car yesterday, it felt like forever), I got to the Preble County Historical Society building. I was impressed with the house and took a couple of pictures. As I was taking my second picture, a woman came out and asked if she could help me. She was really friendly and told me that the driving tour I’d come to do had a paper with text directions on it, which I thought was great, seeing as I don’t know the area and the map they had wasn’t terribly helpful unless you know your way around.

I left there around 10:00 and spent the next two and a half to three hours wandering around Preble County following their covered bridge tour. I think the most disappointing thing about the adventure was that the bridges all looked the same. I looked online before I left at some other bridges and there was a lot more variety in how they were constructed as far as a “normal” person could tell. The exciting thing about the trip was that I got to drive through most of them.

We failed to bring a way to get pictures off the Canon, but I took a couple of pictures on my phone, which I could get to, so I’ve included one of those (quality isn’t great, but they’re still pictures). I’ll upload a couple of the pictures from the big camera later.

(You can get to the rest of the pictures if you click on this one.)
One thought on “Ohio’s Covered Bridges

Have something to say?

