To Las Vegas – Day Three Albuquerque

As we went across the country, Donald wanted to stop at each state and take a picture to “prove” that he’d been there. So, when we stopped in Oklahoma at the welcome center, I was impressed by this picture. I don’t know what the subject is, but I’m fairly certain it’s the Trail of Tears. Actually, this page says it’s a painting of the Trail of Tears by Robert Lindneux.

From there, we drove on toward Amarillo. The only thing I could think of every time I saw the sign was the George Strait song. After a while, it was kind of annoying to start singing the song in my head every time I saw a sign that told us how far the upcoming towns were.

This was the waiting area for the restaurant at which we had dinner on Sunday night (Saltgrass Steakhouse in Amarillo). Other than being really salty, the steak I had was the best steak I’ve ever had. The beef was really tender and really well-cooked. And the flavor of the beef was fantastic.

After dinner, Mom drove the rest of the way to Albuquerque.

Next stop: Las Vegas!

Have something to say?

