Days of Thanks: Teachers

I’m thankful for all the teachers I’ve ever had – even if I didn’t like them at the time.

To the teachers that made learning fun, thank you! Who doesn’t want to eat candy that’s supposed to cure you of “um” and “uh”?

To the teachers who were dry, thank you! More than the lessons that were “supposed” to be taught, I learned about doing things even when I don’t want to. I learned about trying to pay attention for hours without drifting off to la-la land. And who says that’s not applicable to the real world?

To the teachers I didn’t like, thank you. No, I wouldn’t choose to take a class with you again, but you taught me that sometimes, it’s better to not say anything because there is no winning with you. And that seems to be a lesson that is applicable in life outside of school as well.

Finally, to Mom and Dad, thank you. Thank you for pushing and prodding and probably worrying a lot (especially with *ahem* Latin) about getting me through half of my before-college schooling.

Have something to say?

