Days of Thanks: The Basics

This month, I’ve focused on the things that are immediate to me (things that were forefront in my mind), rather than the necessities. I did this because I felt a little trite saying “food,” “health,” “peace.” Today is their day.

Today, I’m thankful that I have so much in the way of basics that I have the energy to complain about and be thankful for the things that satisfy wants rather than needs.

I’m thankful for good, easily accessible food and clean water. I’m thankful for a safe home and people that love me and take care of me. I’m thankful for clothes on my back and good health. I’m thankful that the air I breathe is generally safe.

As this concludes a month of giving thanks for the things I have (the things I’ve shared and the things I’ve chosen to keep to myself), I realize just how very much I have. While I don’t consider myself to live a lavish life, this month has reminded me how much I take for granted. And maybe even turned on end the idea that my life isn’t that lavish.

If you’ve been following along, I hope you’ve gotten as much out of this (in thinking about your own blessings) as I have.

Have something to say?

