Good Moments from Asheville – Part 4

To continue the series I started.

Today, I was thinking about the trip and one incident popped into my head that I hadn’t mentioned yet. But before I had time to write about it, I thought “What if I could do a theme post instead of a single instance post? There must be some way to tie this into other things that happened on the trip?” So today’s post is memories of the decent people we met on our trip.

The incident that made me think of it was a maintenance guy at the hotel. At the end of the weekend, he brought us all towels that had the name of the hotel on them (not that big of a deal, in the grand scheme of things, but nice in its own way). As it turns out, that’s a perk of that particular chain, but still…he was super friendly (but not creepy) and that was nice.

Sunday, when it was raining, we were on winding roads and it was raining. The roads had no shoulder and there was nowhere to pull over. Since we were riding a little under the speed limit, cars came up behind us. On Sunday (unlike Monday), people were really considerate and gave me (as the last bike) plenty of space. That meant a lot to me and I wish there were some way I could tell them that I really appreciated their thoughtfulness. I waved, but I just don’t think that really tells them that much.

Every time we stopped to eat, the people in the restaurants were really nice also. I’ve heard stories about how bikers are frequently not well-received, but I didn’t feel like we were anything other than people (maybe with some really interesting stories to tell or something, but definitely not a negative feeling). I realize that near the Dragon, they get a lot of bikers and that biker tourism is probably a huge thing for their economy, but it’s one thing to realize something like that as a general truth and another thing to live with it in your backyard. I got the impression that the people we interacted with didn’t see the bike tourism as a burden (unlike the way people at the beach seem to resent summertime beach-goers), but a chance to interact with unique characters. And that made those people that much more interesting to me.

Have something to say?

