Days of Thanks: Work (Week 1)

So, last year, I struggled to find things to be thankful for that I wanted to share. It wasn’t that I wasn’t thankful – it was that I wasn’t sure I wanted to share everything that popped into my head. So, this year, I’m doing things a little differently. The idea was to be privately thankful every day, but share one thing at the end of the week. I’ll admit that, so far, I’ve completely forgotten that it’s November and, therefore, time to remember to be thankful. However, I’m still quite happy to share one thing this week that I’m thankful for: my job.

I’ve been working on a farm near me since March. In the middle of my last semester at school and with only a year and a half of internship time, I wasn’t (and still am not) the best employee possible – I’m still learning and I still make mistakes and I’m kind of slow, but they treat me more than fairly. In addition to paying well, they frequently send me home with leftover vegetables. The hours are insanely awesome: in the summer, we started around 7, but lately, I haven’t had to be there until 9:30 (Who wants to get up two hours before the sun? Not me!). They’ve been teaching me things about having a farm that would have been painful to learn on my own.

What I’m trying to say is, I’m really thankful not just to have a job, but to have a job I love. I’m thankful to my previous boss for sending me to my current job. I’m thankful for my current boss for being patient with my mistakes. And I’m thankful to be learning so much.

Have something to say?

