Puppy Learning Curves

The last week has been a learning experience, to put it mildly. I don’t remember the my last experience with a puppy and I’ve never had an indoor puppy. Tony had indoor dogs when he was growing up, but it’s been a while since they were puppies too. We both had (and still have) a lot to learn. One thing we learned was that baby gates are way more useful than we thought they would be. The cats don’t like the gates, but they’re getting used to jumping over.

As far as cat-dog relations, they’re learning to get along, though they are definitely not friends. Sometimes (most of the time), Rhythm is really good about following the cats around calmly. Other times, she gets excited (either because the cats flip out and she just has to chase or because she just gets some wild idea that cats might be fun playmates) and the cats don’t like that much (Coke has batted at Rhythm a couple of times). But overall, I think the cats and the puppy learning to get along in their own way.

Rhythm is definitely Tony’s puppy. She follows him around and gets very sad when he leaves whatever room she’s in. On the other hand, she notices if I leave, but doesn’t seem to mind much. This morning, though, Tony left the room and she went right on sleeping…until he started whistling a song from Hansel and Gretel. This is the picture I got when he came back in the room.
As a bonus for listening to me babble about puppies and learning curves, have a chicken picture! Burgundy was laying when I went to let the chickens out.

Have something to say?