Spring!

I started a lot of tomatoes this year. My intent was to can more tomatoes than last year so that we have enough for the whole year, instead of making it to December and running out. The hard part has been finding a place to plant them (and this isn’t even all of them!).
I’m really excited about the plants that are getting ready to produce. It seemed like the squash got going really quickly this year.
These tomatoes are plants that seeded themselves in the bottom of my compost heap. When I moved the heap, a whole community of plants started growing. I thought it was amusing to just leave them to grow and it looks like they are going to have fruit before the rest of my plants
Strawberry jam! I went picking with the lady I worked for last year and Tony helped me make jam. I should’ve listened to him when he said to add more sugar. I was going for something less sweet and more flavorful than what you get at the grocery store. But I think I went a little too far on the less sugar side.
More May/June pictures

Have something to say?

