Summer Puppies & Full Circle Birthdays

First off, today is Alexus’s birthday. Happy birthday!

About a month ago, I ordered one of those plastic wading pools for the dogs. All summer we’d get back from walking in the woods and they’d be all muddy from romping after crashing through the creek. They’re not really all that fond of being hosed off and I thought it might be a little less stressful to be rinsed in a pool instead. I finally picked it up now that it’s cool. And the dogs are pouting that they missed their chance. While it’s true that the weather has cooled off, I filled the pool to see what they would think of it. Whiskey thought it was awesome to grab the hose and run off with it and Rhythm thought the giant water bowl was pretty weird.In other news, Whiskey started his second puppy class. We have a different teacher, but the person who taught the first class is helping with this one. The woman who teaches the second level is the same one who taught Rhythm’s class. She’s really intense and, while I feel like we might learn more from her (I think she’s been in the training/dog behavior thing longer), she’s a lot more intimidating. I feel like the first class was more about having fun and this class is more about accomplishing things. We will accomplish things! I think.

Finally, earlier this week, I went to see the Josh Turner concert…with Dad. Since my first Josh Turner concert (also around my birthday) was with Mom, Dad, and Jean, it felt right that Dad went with me this time (Mom and Jean are kind of far away). It was at the Paramount, which I think is a great venue. The show was overproduced for such a small space, but Dad and I both had a really good time. Banjos! Steel guitars! What’s not to like? Of course, we all wanted to hear “Long Black Train.” And, of course, that was the second to last song he played. I was concerned for a little while that it might not be part of his set since it’s been such a long time since that song came out and it was never a number one. Then I heard a couple of people yelling for it and I realized that a song that propelled him as far as it did couldn’t be skipped. That made it a lot easier to sit back and enjoy the rest of the music.

September/October album

Have something to say?

