Dairy Job


Aren’t they cute?

At the end of January, I was browsing the job listings on Craigslist and found one for a sheep/goat dairy not too far from me. They were looking for someone to do three afternoon/evening milking shifts and only wanted someone for about six months. That sounded like a really good fit for me, as I’m interested in getting some goats at some point for milk and meat (for us) and I’m not looking to be employed indefinitely.

The first day was chaotic and overwhelming and awesome at the same time. I loved it. The second day was less chaotic and someone different was showing me how to do stuff. I liked the different perspectives. The third day felt like I was starting to pull stuff together. While I know they were doing a lot of the things they’ll eventually hand off to me, I felt like I was able to start doing some of the things they’d already showed me.

The other exciting thing was that on the third day, one of the goats had babies! Kyle (one of the owners of the dairy) called me over after I finished what I was doing and I got there in time to see both of them born. The first kid came easily and the second he said was tangled up a bit, so he had to help. The babies are super cute and I think it’s pretty cool that part of my job is cleaning their buckets so I can look at them.


One of my favorite parts of the day, right now, is driving the animals to the barn. The guys who own the place said that it works best to drive them to the barn and lead them to the pasture. I’ve seen a couple of the goats be really slow going back out, so I’m a little nervous about doing that part on my own, but that’ll be a while yet, I think.

Have something to say?

