Where’s My Schedule?

After being released from work for the season, I’ve completely lost track of any kind of schedule. Which is my attempt to explain the missing post this morning. The herd work day that I mentioned last week got postponed because of the weather (apparently, rain doesn’t make for good hoof trimming).

I’m taking the pigs to the slaughterhouse on Monday. We’re excited for the results of the summer’s growth, but I have to say, we’re going to miss them. They’re great composters and their personalities were really amusing. Moving them as much as we did minimized the smell (some days were definitely more noticeable than others). We’re looking forward to getting at least another pair of pigs in the spring.

 photo B713C2AA-A741-47F1-A67F-97247B2DE4F8_zpshp1ofyxo.jpg
In other homegrown food news, we finished culling the chickens (for the MS) and put them in the freezer. I’ve spent the last week or so working on cleaning the chicken house…I’m realizing that one of the reasons I really hate cleaning is that there’s always one more thing to do before you’re done. Or one more thing to do before you can do this other thing that has to be done before that other thing. I finally got the chicken side cleaned out, but the shed side still has some work to go before I can power wash. And then I can sanitize and paint. And build a roost. And a new waterer and feeder.

 photo 1A0F7557-C32D-4526-ADF0-F84846F07ECE_zpst3jnubla.jpg
This picture of Whiskey is something Tony told me I should try to photograph. Most of the time, trying to take pictures of the sun like this doesn’t work for me, but Tony complimented me so much that I figured there was no harm in trying. Especially since my pictures are all digital now. And Whiskey was a pretty cooperative prop.

2 thoughts on “Where’s My Schedule?

Have something to say?

