May Update

May was an incredibly busy month. Twenty Paces work really picked up for me, Tony was out of town for two weeks (and he’s had a lot of stuff going on at work), there was a lot of (bad) excitement with the goats, and we acquired three pigs (!!). I’ve been wiped out and haven’t even taken that many pictures.

Twenty Paces Work

 photo 4957F0C3-8591-498C-9500-2C62DF5B107E_zpsgqixppr3.jpg
All (or nearly all) of the babies have been born at this point, so we’re milking about 80 animals twice per day. I only have three milking shifts, but trying to get them all done in the allotted time is a challenge (it’s entirely achievable, which is nice). I’ve also got two days per week that I spend working on farm stuff. I do a lot of mucking (less of that with the lady they hired to help with that during the week), a lot of hosing down the milking parlor, some fence repair, a lot of fence moving, and generally doing whatever I can to be useful. I love the chance to see more of the operation of the farm.

Goats & Pigs

 photo B5A4EB22-A409-4489-9963-00200A49A2ED_zpsg2fa6ajl.jpg
The goats have been…everything people say about goats. It’s a little baffling to me because I feel like the goats at work have a much better personality than ours, but we’re seeing how things go. My current analogy is that if goats are to horses as sheep are to cows, our goats are ponies. Those ponies are doing great work for us (they’ve cleared out the blueberries near the chicken house to make it harder for foxes to sneak super close), but in the last two weeks, two of them got themselves tangled in the electric fence and one of them died. This is not an auspicious start to the first year of goat ownership.

The pigs have been off to great start (admittedly, as of my writing this, they haven’t even been here half a week). I put them in the hard fence (the goats were still being reminded about electric when the pigs came home), even though the lady I bought them from had already done a lot of electric fence training for them. I wanted to make sure that there wasn’t any confusion since my fence is different from hers. As far as I can tell, they haven’t even touched the fence yet. They’re very standoffish, which bothers Tony, but I reminded him that the pigs from last year were shy at the beginning, but super personable by the time we took them to be processed.

The next couple of months will probably be just as wild as this one was. One baby at work is due to have already been born and the other is due at the end of June, so work may pick up a little. Our goats are due to kid at the beginning of August, so that’ll be exciting and busy-making. Tony’s got a lot of travel this summer, so that’s also going to create some chaos. I apologize if posting this summer is slow, but some days, I’m just trying to keep up with myself.

Have something to say?

